WIPMarathon (Dec-Jan) Check-In #5

Time for another check-in and the first check-in of the year! Whoop whoop!

Things I’m Glad I did in 2013:

2013 was actually a terrible year for me personally. There were a great deal of things that went horribly wrong throughout the year, which I will not go into detail about. I guess, what I’m most happy with about 2013, is that we moved. Mind you, we moved back to my hometown filled with my less than desirable ex-friends from various years of my life and the school years, and my family. But we never bump into any of them and we really needed to get away from where we were. I dislike my hometown, yet I love it. It’s comfortable for me here, I’m used to it. Used to the noise, the smells, the sights, and I know my way around. It was also the year I got my first tattoo, which I will never forget or regret.

I also lost a substantial amount of weight in 2013. I’ve had weight issues since 2009 which turned into a slew of medical issues. I gained, in total, about 125lbs since 2009. The twenty-five pounds, I actually needed as I was severely underweight when I started gaining the weight. Due to my stress related binge eating I gained too much weight. In 2013, I finally began working it off to start 2014 with a healthy weight. So I’m glad that I’m healthy again, not underweight and not overweight.

In 2014 I’d Love to be/do:

Gee, this is a difficult one. I’m not one of those folks that makes a New Year’s Resolution, so I think I will take the practical route with this one. This year I want to learn better coping methods for the variety of mental ailments I suffer from and learn better coping with my eating disorder. I also want to finish both Firemists and Haunted Dreams this year and send them off to seeing if they might get published.

Last Word Count + Chapter Count:

51,576 Still without any separation of chapters. Just a giant mash of story in a single document.

Current WC + CC (or SC):

73,396 and holding strong there while I struggle with the next section. But in three weeks, that’s a lot.

WIP Issues this Week:

Same as last week really. I did have one major issue for a day or so though. I wasn’t quite sure about one scene in Firemists, if it should be there or not. After a great deal of discussion, with my imaginary companions, I decided to wait and that scene will be later. I know for a fact there are some lacking details and the like, but I still adore Firemists to no end. To the point I had debated some teaser things to be typed up for public consumption, then I got distracted writing again.

And then there was that critique on the first 250 words of U.U. which got me pretty riled up for about six hours of flailing and ranting at hubby. How I managed to keep from going off all over my tumblr about it, I do not know, but I did.

What I learnt this week in writing:

Writing is hard, need I say more?

What distracted me this week while writing:

Let’s see, uhm, personal life junk stuff which included Hubby needing lots and lots of support so the writing went on the back burner. I got overwhelmed due to said junk stuff and figured out that when I’m overwhelmed I shouldn’t even touch my laptop. Also, Game of Thrones. Seriously, I have a problem with rewatching it almost every day, we have seasons 1-3 and I am addicted to it. Another thing this week… Last Sunday was my 24th birthday and I got the next book in my collection of the Midnight Breed series by Lara Adrian, Darker After Midnight. I also started part-time working on Haunted Dreams again, but that’s still at a slow, leisurely pace since it’s a collaboration.

Last 200 Words:

Have an intense 204 words and these are the last 204 words of the WIP as of right now, not higher up, because I’m nice and it’s very much a teaser rather than a spoiler.

A swift scoop moved her up into Tavros’ arms before she could even crumble under her own weight, her head balanced on his shoulder as he carried her back to the cabin. Moran’s voice was a sharp, commanding snap, much like a whip cracking, he knelt and looked into the boy’s eyes with his steel ones, “You will obey me and go get the ship’s surgeon. I think your sister has been starved to the point she no longer has endurance to handle strain. Too much abuse and stress, now you know where those scars came from, she is hurt and we must take care of her.”

Shav nodded, once the Captain released him, the boy ran to carry out his order. The Captain heading into the cabin where Tavros had laid Martiya down, speaking after he noticed the look in the younger man’s eyes, “No Tavros, you may not kill him. She doesn’t want him dead. We discussed this. I took care of it, that bastard won’t have a peaceful moment for the rest of his life. She wanted him to live with it, and he will live with it. To the day he dies and he cannot commit suicide to escape either.”

Good luck this week everybody! Also, beta readers, still need beta readers, give me beta readers, I have a mighty lust for beta readers!

3 thoughts on “WIPMarathon (Dec-Jan) Check-In #5

  1. One of the best things I’ve done lifewise so far is moving back to my hometown. I don’t see anyone I know ever and when I think I do, it’s been so long, I’m not even sure it’s them.

    That is great progress for 3 weeks! I’ve tried to write that much in 3 weeks, but I haven’t made it yet. One day. 🙂

    Good luck with the Beta search. I know how hard that is. And I hope this year is much better for you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

