WIPMarathon Check-In #7

Because I’m a week behind now, but I regret nothing!

 

firemists

 

Last Word Count + Chapter Count:
74,250

Current WC + CC (or SC):
92,651 (Nearly 93K!) of zero draft deliciousness!

WIP Issues this week:
Resisting the urge to edit before the zero draft is finished is the only issue I’m having with Firemists. Everything else is going fine, I just have this itch to edit in what I know is missing, but if I do, I will never finish this.

What I learnt this week in writing:
You must finish your zero draft BEFORE you edit and start the first draft! You must! (Seriously, I have to hit myself when I start scrolling up and reading.)

What distracted me this week while writing:
Nothing truly distracted me. However, my dog I’ve had since I was 10 was put to sleep yesterday and I have been put down a few times with migraines. Literally, my husband will remove the laptop from me and make me go to bed because I will be crying in pain and still typing. A small distraction has been me thinking over the whole author-platforming thing and attempting to be more active on Twitter, I’m not the best at such things, especially that little thing called ‘self-promotion’. Ah well, least I’m still getting work done, yeah?

Last 200 Words:

It’s the last 192, but it’s a good one!

She carefully lit the fire, blowing until the wood finally caught the flame and started burning, the entire cave filling with the pale blue moonlight rather than the usual warm firelight. “This is my secret spot and don’t you dar tell anyone about it. This stays between us,” she warned him before she slipped out of her clothes and hopped into the water with him.

“One more odd trait of our land. It will stay between us as you wish, though it would be interesting to know what that Redcloak would make of it, but they’d want to study it.”

“So, how’s your side? Feeling better? You look much better since you were allowed out of bed again. I’m going to miss having that advantage over you,” she teased him, making sure she was far away before he could get her for the tease.

She could only swim so far and he casually swam after her, placing an arm on either side of her to trap her against one side of the pool, “Much better.”

Martiya gave him a concerned look and giggled as he leaned toward her, “So I can see…”

I hope everyone else is doing well! I’m excited that this might actually be finished by the last check-in and I will have completed my goal of a zero draft!

5 thoughts on “WIPMarathon Check-In #7

  1. I always edit as I write. I wish I wouldn’t cause it slows me down. Sorry about your dog. Sounds like they lived a long time. I’m not very active on social media either. It’s on my list of things to work on. I don’t just want to tweet random stuff though, you know.

    I hope the migraines stay at bay. I know how hard it is to function with one, and you’re so close to finishing. I can’t wait it cheer with you when you’re done! ^_^

    Like

  2. I’m so sorry about your doggie. 😦 Sending you lots of hugs. ❤

    The work is the most important thing, I think. Self promotion is hard for a lot of us, I think. Do as much as you feel comfortable with until you're ready. At least, that's my motto. 🙂

    Hang in there. Great progress! Almost done? Woohoo! Rally!

    Like

Leave a Reply

