Book Review: The Elvenbane by Andre Norton & Mercedes Lackey

Hi everyone!

 

Do not adjust the settings on your monitor/phone/tablet, this is not a drill… It’s my first book review!

 

The Elvenbane Cover

 

The Elvenbane

(The Halfblood Chronicles Book 1)

Andre Norton and Mercedes Lackey

Paperback, 566 pages

Published 1991 by Tor Books

Genre: Fantasy

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

 

The Elvenbane is the first novel of the Halfblood Chronicles, and………..

SPOILER ALERT:

The Elves are aliens! I was a little wary at first on it, but it turned out better than I imagined at first. Shana’s adventure is amazing both internally and externally. The down side, which is likely my being picky, is that some parts were drawn out while others were grazed over when I expected detail. It seemed, within the first few chapters, that Alara and Keman should have more presence and they dropped off rather roughly. The struggle with the wizards and the elves was amazing, but the battle was almost nonexistent other than occasional mention. Another nit-picky detail was the odd switches with the halfblood wizard Mero/Shadow; his name flip flopped to the point it seemed like there was an extra person with them. I had an issue with Mero in that he was much less present as well and he seemed to be more of an important character. Dryan, I loved as a villain. He fit the role perfectly and went out with a bang. 😉

 

I am interested in the rest of the series though. I haven’t read anything else by Andre Norton or Mercedes Lackey – I have heard several of her songs off various albums. I give it 4 out of 5 stars only because of how picky I am, other than those little details I was swept up in the story. I wanted to know what might happen next and I am still curious what happens in the rest of the series. I say give it a shot if you like fantasy!

One thought on “Book Review: The Elvenbane by Andre Norton & Mercedes Lackey

  1. MM Jaye

    A good start, Jinny! On Goodreads, I call myself the “Romance Nitpicker!” I tend to nit-pick too! Reviews is a great way to connect with writers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

