Book-by-Book Reviews: The Midnight Breed Series (#1)

KoMCover

He watches her from across the crowded dance club, a sensual black-haired stranger who stirs Gabrielle Maxwell’s deepest fantasies. But nothing about this night—or this man—is what it seems. For when Gabrielle witnesses a murder outside the club, reality shifts into something dark and deadly. In that shattering instant she is thrust into a realm she never knew existed—a realm where vampires stalk the shadows and a blood war is set to ignite.

Lucan Thorne despises the violence carried out by his lawless brethren. A vampire himself, Lucan is a Breed warrior, sworn to protect his kind—and the unwitting humans existing alongside them—from the mounting threat of the Rogues. Lucan cannot risk binding himself to a mortal woman, but when Gabrielle is targeted by his enemies, he has no choice but to bring her into the dark underworld he commands.

Here, in the arms of the Breed’s formidable leader, Gabrielle will confront an extraordinary destiny of danger, seduction, and the darkest pleasures of all. . . .

About the Author

As a child, Lara Adrian used to sleep with the covers up around her neck, afraid she might become the midnight prey of deadly vampires. Later on, under the influence of Bram Stoker and Anne Rice, she had to wonder if her fear wasn’t actually something else: a secret desire to walk in a darker world, to live a dangerous and sensual dream with a man of seductive, preternatural power. It is that twining of fear and desire that fuels Lara’s own fantasies today, and the idea that she explores in her New York Times bestselling Midnight Breed series of vampire romance novels from Bantam Dell Books.

With an ancestry stretching back to the Mayflower and the court of King Henry VIII, Lara Adrian lives with her husband in coastal New England, surrounded by centuries-old graveyards, hip urban comforts, and the endless inspiration of the broody Atlantic Ocean.

Lara Adrian’s debut title, Kiss of Midnight, was named Borders Books bestselling debut romance of 2007.

To read more about Lara Adrian and her work, visit her website.

The Review [3/5 Stars]

I had actually sworn off PNR with vampires after Twilight was released. I am not a fan of Twilight and I can not make it more than a page into any of the books before I throw them across the room like they have the plague. For all of you who are fans of the Twilight series, you should know right now that I am not, nor will I ever be and I will not apologize for it. Anyway, the Twilight books put a chip in my shoulder because my YA Vampires were The Den of Shadows and they were what originally made me want to become a writer. Because of how crazy everyone got for Twilight and no one would ever listen to my rants about The Den of Shadows, I swore off PNR Vampires for several years. Kiss of Midnight was released in 2007, during my PNR Vampire strike which didn’t end until 2009 with the book Lover Avenged from J.R. Ward. I had found the adult PNR and I was absorbed instantly.

Kiss of Midnight, I purchased a year later after going through all of the released BDB series and noticing Lara Adrian was commenting on J.R. Ward’s novels just as she was commenting on Lara’s. I was honestly not very impressed at first and thought I wouldn’t keep going with the series. I actually had a great deal of trouble finishing Kiss of Midnight the first time because I was expecting J.R. Ward and reading Lara Adrian who have very different styles. However, by the end, I was curious to see what would happen next. Truthfully it was Kiss of Crimson (MB #2) that sold me on the series, possibly because Dante is one of many fictional boyfriends I have, but that’s for next week.

I didn’t like Kiss of Midnight until I read it again, going through what was released, then putting them away for a while and starting over really gave Kiss of Midnight the chance it needed. Without jumping from one series to another, I was able to see the brilliance Lara Adrian was putting into the Midnight Breed series and exactly how it wasn’t like the BDB series. I was glued for the second read, I discovered I had been so caught up in the BDB series I hadn’t even remembered what the contents of Kiss of Midnight was, it was as though I opened the paperback for the first time. And can I just admit how much of a sucker I am for paperback PNR? I love hardcovers, but there is something special about PNR paperbacks, might just be me.

Kiss of Midnight is about Lucan Thorne, leader of the Order in Boston, Massachusetts and Gabrielle Maxwell, a very talented photographer, and how they ultimately end up together. I actually remember it fondly, the push and pull of their relationship and all Lucan’s ‘Angel-esque’ brooding. He’s really serious and not kidding, gorgeous! Lara did a fantastic job, I found out with the second read. Her characters while similar in some ways, are all very different and troubled by very different things. The villains in the series are about as evil as they come, especially when the antagonist finally truly shows his face.

What I love the most is the lore she used for the series. J.R. Ward has made what amount to deities for the BDB series, but Lara Adrian took hers a completely different route that kicked supernatural out the door and snuck science fiction in through the window when no one was looking. The tale between Gabrielle and Lucan is fantastic, but even better is the overall plot of the Order vs. the Antagonist. The characters are amazing, the scenery is exactly what you want when you think underground vampires no one notices. There are minor cliches but she uses them appropriately and usually for a good bit of comic relief right when you need it otherwise some situations would send you into a blanket nest to cry for days. There were a few little errors that bothered me, a hole or two that weren’t fixed in editing, also I believe there are 4 typos in the printed version I have which has the same cover as above. But all in all, I give Kiss of Midnight 3/5 stars.

You can tell it’s the first in the series and she’s just getting the feel for everything. Some of the characters are a little flat in this book but have grown in the later books. It only gets a 3 because it’s too obvious of a beginning book. I liked it, I have read it a few times and will likely read it again over the winter holidays when I need some steamy romance, but I don’t like how 2-D it becomes at odd points. I had the same problem with Dark Lover from the BDB series, they have faults but they’re worth looking over.

If you liked the Black Dagger Brotherhood series, you should honestly give Midnight Breed a chance. The similarities between them are only in the fact that both series are about vampire warriors who are all male that find love. The amount of work I can imagine Lara Adrian has put into the Midnight Breed series is amazing, to come up with everything she did and have it flow so smoothly together. I strongly suggest if you enjoy NA PNR with a hearty dose of action, you pick up a few of the Midnight Breed books, get the first two or something, but not just one. I bought them one at a time and the wait between them was torture. I love this series and the characters and the story, I hope you will too!

See everyone next time for Kiss of Crimson!

One thought on “Book-by-Book Reviews: The Midnight Breed Series (#1)

Leave a Reply

