Why Hello There! (NaNoWriMo2014 & WIPMarathon Check-In #9)

I know it’s been a while, but how have you all been? Good? That’s fabulous, I’m glad. Bad? I send you virtual vibes of awesome feelings! Now that we have that out of the way… I have been a poor excuse for a WIPMarathon-er and Twitter-er, and I’m not even sure that’s a thing. Harsh? Yes, I know, but it’s also true.

Due to technical malfunctions of epic proportions I have been mostly offline for a while now, my only means of posting, tweeting, anything internet related has been on my husband’s Android with his cellular service, which isn’t too good in the area where we live. The upside being that we were able to straighten a few things about life out without internet things getting in the way. The downside being,.. well my blog died and so did a lot of my WIPs which were destroyed in the electronic malfunction. Yes, including all of my edits for Firemists and every other WIP I’ve worked on in the passed two years.

It was a tragic, depressing, infuriating day when my laptop stopped turning on, even worse when the tech informed me the harddrive was fried in the malfunction. Let’s not get off track here. I came here today, a day late because my timing is phenomenal that way, to talk with you about the beginning of NaNoWriMo2014 and my very tardy WIPMarathon update.

Firstly, NaNoWriMo2014! Let’s be buddies! I took a break in 2013 and tried working on my NaNoWriMo’12 novel, unsuccessfully. This year I decided to go back to NaNo with a blend of new ideas from the remaints of the old ideas that weren’t destroyed with my hard drive. This year is looking promising considering I already have over 3,500 words and it’s only day two. I also have a better plan this year than before and this time I intend to self-publish the result. Why? As a test of sorts. I am under no illusions that I will most likely try my hardest to complete my NaNo, but I want to see if the completed product can hold it’s own in the market. Mind you, I know if any of them sell it’s probably my fellow writers being the mystical creatures they are and supporting the little known author, but I still want to see. There’s always a chance I’m just really hard on myself and should stop being a Negative Nelly about my work, I won’t know until it’s waved in front of my face though. So, curious about my NaNoWIP yet? Keep reading to the WIPMarathon #9 Check In below.

Before we begin on my excessively late WIPMarathon post; I am working off the numbers from my last WIP update about four posts and four months ago. If you don’t remember that post, fret not my child! You can refresh your memory!

Last Report WC: 11,862 and five chapters into the second round of Firemists edits.

Current Report WC: 3,532 (You can keep up with my daily progress here!)

Writing Issues This Month:

(Including the four months I’ve been MIA, all summed up into a neat package!)
The first issue was my inability to stay focused on one project, the second was the house-wide electronic malfunction where I lost a hard drive, Hubby almost lost his console hard drive, and the kids’ refurbished tablet bit the dust. On the upside, all has now been remedied, for the most part. However, I had a great deal of trouble bouncing back from that loss, which most people would call silly, but my misfortune is that I have ‘mental illnesses’ which make losses like that even harder to recover from. Thankfully, my husband is amazing and understands these things about me! So, to help me feel better, he surprised me with a five-subject spiral notebook and then took me out to buy new books. I got a signed copy of the latest Midnight Breed Series novel from Lara Adrian, Crave the Night and it was fantastic! After some book therapy, I started writing the old-fashioned way until my computer issues were worked into the budget. Because I had my laptop returned so close to NaNo, I held off in regard to starting anything new. Instead I focused on old ideas that are clogging up my WIP folder and started blending them together, plots and characters alike until I had something I really liked. Thus was born, my NaNoWriMo’14 plot bunny!

Four Things I Learned this Month in Writing:

  1. Learn to let go. It hurts like pulling gauzes caked with blood off your open wound, but sometimes you have no choice. You have to chuck that sucker in the trash bin, grab a band-aid, and move on with your day. Something much easier said than done, but is entirely possible through perseverance.
  2. I’m a part-time gamer, full-time writer. This doesn’t sound like something to learn really, but it was one of the more ‘personal’ things I’ve learned. My husband is a gamer, a fully fledged gamer and he would design video games if he could sit still for the schooling, which is pretty impossible with adult ADHD. He plays video games 85% of the time, it’s just what he does. Why is this so important? Because I play video games about 45% of the time, depending on my mood, and I only have a handful of video games I really love. The second week of October the newest sequel to our mutually favorite game came out Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel and we not only pre-ordered it but went to the midnight release, not that there was a massive turn out considering we live in the boondocks of Georgia. We beat the game’s main story line by the second day it had been released and as a gamer, he felt let down. As a gamer I was enthralled and even more in love with the series I had already fallen in love with, but as a writer, my life suddenly changed. That was when I realized, even my favorite video games were being broken down by their characters, plot, and subplots in my mind and I could look at all of it like a cork board of neon colored index cards. I had thought I was about half and half until I realized I had started doing this with movies as well and figured it out. I’m a writer, period. I see everything for the story hidden under all the flashy glamor of Hollywood and the graphics.
  3. Kittens just don’t care how much work you put into typing, you are the dumb one who left the laptop open when you left to get more coffee, Our newest addition to the family is a small gray tabby, who looks like a tiny gray and black ocelot, named Kairi. She’s a stray that was born outside in our yard during the summer who we just had to save and bring inside. Still very much a kitten and very affectionate, I thought nothing of her sleeping in one of my sweaters on the bed recently and left her alone with my laptop open while I went to get another cup of coffee. I return to find half my WIP deleted and replaced by random key presses with Kairi sleeping content on my keyboard. Naturally, I had to move her, only for her to return less than five minutes later and climb up again. Now we have a battle every time I’m typing, but it is really cute.
  4. The final thing I have learned in all this time MIA and distracted. Don’t take things so seriously. I want to be a published author, I want to complete an MS and have it published for the masses more than anything else, but I have been taking the writing process so seriously I have stifled my own creativity. I learned to stop mainstreaming my work, to stop trying to emulate so many others, and to stop panicking over the smallest things. I’ve learned to accept myself as a writer. Sometimes I forget my schedules, I’m too chaotic to have an itinerary stapled to my forehead. Sometimes I forget to be social and that’s okay too, because that’s just part of who I am and have always been. It’s nothing against my public, fans, friends, ect. I am simply very introverted and frequently anti-social, but I strive to ignore those personality traits of mine as often as possible.

What Distracted Me this Month While Writing:

Life, as always, it was life and will probably always be life. It’s not my fault society won’t let me live in my own head 24/7, maybe I should write my Governor or something about it. Until then, life is going to rear it’s ugly head no matter what I do, but that’s why I have fantasy worlds to camp in for a while when life gets to be too much. Now everyone imagine a pillow fort in the middle of the most intense scene of your favorite/current novel, at the very least two of you giggled at that particular image. Enjoy that one on me! 🙂

Goals for Next Month: (Which is really this month but shush, that’s a secret between just us.)

Finish Nocturnal Infatuation, my NaNo’14 romance novel before December 1st.

Last 200 Words: Because NaNo just started and I’m feeling generous… Here’s the entire first scene of Nocturnal InfatuationWARNING: There is profane language in this excerpt!

An Oíche, the slaughterhouse turned nightclub, that was truly misleading from the exterior where it appeared to still be a functioning slaughterhouse. Inside the rusting metal double security doors was a horde of writhing, sweating bodies, grinding in a mindless, sensual frenzy of euphoric abandon. The DJ booth was lifted up over the bar, with waist high safety glass, the massive speakers pumping the heavy bass EBM from the ceiling rafters hidden in the darkness above. The black marble topped bar was surrounded in mirrors reflecting the multi-colored strobe lights that lined the walls and the black-lights lining the baseboards. Mist from the fog machines hung at the waist, wisps curling up through the trails of light in smokey tendrils.

They didn’t make it five feet before two men close to their age swooped in with bright white smiles and silver tongues. Whispering promises they would never keep trying to get a few hours of time to see how far the ‘lovely young ladies’ would go before they got forceful. Neither of them were stupid and easily shrugged their way through the throng of horny males looking for a potential hole to rut for a brief moment before they moved to the next.

“Well, that was eventful, and to think we aren’t even on duty tonight,” Maeve commented as they reached an empty table on the balcony level and both sat down.

“Damn shame considering how much trouble I see sitting around in here.”

“Oy!” Maeve scolded, her British accent thickening with her annoyance, “You promised you wouldn’t be a bloody cow while we were out tonight.”

“Okay, okay,” Neasa reassured her friend as one of the lean waiters made his way over asking for their drinks while Maeve undressed him with her eyes. “You better give him a serious tip for making him so uncomfortable.”

“I’m sure he’s encountered much worse. So, what’s the deal with you and Aric over in Delta Squad?” Maeve waggled her ash-blonde eyebrows suggestively and leaned her elbows on the table.

“Nothing.” At the skeptical look, Neasa added, “He went back to his ex again, so it’s really nothing. Don’t worry, I didn’t have my heart set on anything serious.”

“How was he?”

Neasa shrugged one slender shoulder, taking a sip of the neon green cocktail she ordered, “For your average guy, he was fantastic, but not earth-shattering like you were expecting me to say.”

Maeve snapped her fingers dramatically and let out an exasperated sigh, “A girl can dream.”

“I’m pretty sure earth-shattering, phenomenal sex only exists in your dreams anyway, Maeve.”

“Don’t be a bitch Neasa.” Maeve was the only person able to see through Neasa’s personality, the only one with the capacity to understand Neasa had little control over her smart mouth comments. “I don’t know about you, but I plan on spending my night in someone’s apartment enjoying myself.”

Neasa shook her head at the idea, normally she would agree, tonight she would rather slip back into the dormitory late and sleep alone. Working for so long had made interactions with others not something Neasa sought, unlike solitude and silence.

“I don’t think so, not tonight.”

Just as the words left her mouth, she felt the hair on the back of her neck stand on edge – someone was watching her. With all her training came a subtly that was impossible to catch without equal or greater training, she cast a nonchalant glance behind her. The dance floor throbbed with the music, the dancers practically fornicating through all their clothing while the bar patrons washed away their inhibitions about a one-night stand at ground level.

Then she saw him.

The red strobe light to either side of the dark corner where he stood illuminated his features in harsh, violent flashes. He stood well over six and a half feet tall with broad shoulders, wide chest, and a tapered waist that was anything but narrow. Everything about him was huge in comparison to even the large bouncers around the club. His eyes were hidden behind polarized sunglasses but she knew his gaze was fixed on her as uncontrollably as her own gaze was drawn to him.

His black hair was slicked back from his face, a few loose strands falling like cracks in a mirror’s reflection of his harshly handsome features. Sharp, high cheekbones, a defiant square jaw, and a somewhat crooked nose, but his lips… His wide mouth and full, sensuously soft-looking lips that made her mouth water at the thought of feeling against her skin.

Neasa took a deep breath watching all the sinew and muscle undulate from his former position against the wall, the black cotton t-shirt stretching taut over his chest beneath the heavy black duster. His military-style combat fatigues were soundless as were his steel-toed boots, carrying him from one spot to another without the crowd hindering him even slightly. Warmth spread through her limbs and she felt a gentle thrum in her veins as she watched him moved like a predator on the prowl.

Okay, there it is. Please let me know what you think, or just say hi, I really don’t mind either in the comments! 🙂 I apologize for being away for so long but hope it was worth it. To all my NaNoWriMo2014 buddies; good luck and may you reach your goals every day this NaNo-Season! To all my WIPMarathon-ers; keep doing that voodoo that you do, so very well! 😉 To everyone else; I hope your day/night/week is fantastic and filled with amazingly awesome things!

2 thoughts on “Why Hello There! (NaNoWriMo2014 & WIPMarathon Check-In #9)

  1. Oh my gosh! That’s horrible about your computer! 😥 Sounds like you’re handling the aftermath super well.

    FYI: Totally appreciated the pillow fort imagery. ^_^
    Best of luck with NaNo! Stalking people’s progress is really motivational for me. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m trying to handle it at least, I acted like a five year old when it initially happened, but I got over it eventually. 🙂

      I’m glad it made someone snicker. Best of luck to you as well, hopefully we’ll both finish! 😀 Feel free stalking my progress all you want, I try to keep it up-to-date, give or take about 500 words.

      Like

Leave a Reply

